Christmas in Germany

Day after Christmas. Everyone probably gained a few pounds, received a gag gift, or nothing at all. That’s okay. Remember the reason for the season. This year I wasn’t able to buy many gifts. I got my oldest nephew a hoodie, the youngest an iTunes gift card and my mother a case for her new iPad. My brother and sister could care less about gifts.

The greatest gift I can ever give anyone is my love. I absolutely love the family and friends in my life that I can truly count on. The best way I can show them that is by cooking Christmas dinner! This year, my friends and I did a pot luck style. I roasted a duck, sautéed spinach and my best creamy mac & cheese. We also had a honey glazed pineapple ham, mashed potatoes, sausage gravy and an abundance of desserts.

20131226-111530.jpg
This was only a 4lb young duck. It was enough to feed 10 people, only because there was TONS of ham.

Seasoned with kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, cumin, rosemary, and paprika.

I stuffed it with lemon wedges, onions and garlic cloves.

Roasted in a preheated oven at 375°F for about an hour. I’m not used to these European ovens yet, so the last 20 mins or so, I covered it in foil to ensure it was cooked all the way.

20131226-112105.jpg
And the results. It was nice and juicy. Duck is very fatty but it’s the holidays. Eat up, haha.

2 thoughts on “Christmas in Germany

Leave a Reply

