Fresh Spinach Pasta

I seriously believe I was either Italian or Mexican in a past life. I love everything about Italian and Mexican food oh so much!! I can live off both and never ever get tired of it. Lately, I have been trying to make everything homemade. Trying to steer away from processed food as well as eating out so much. My version of baby steps to eating healthier, hehe.

A few weeks ago, I was at the thrift store on post. I rarely find things there since it’s really not that big and everyone else in the military community loves to go thrifting and are just as cheap as me, ha! I mean come on, most military personnel do not get paid that well if they aren’t officers. Thrifting, couponing, and any way we can save money is always best. Well, I found a pasta drying rack for $2, brand new!! Yes, brand new! I was so psyched! I have never made my own pasta before and I was just telling my [gir]lfriend that I wanted to try. I went out and [finally] bought a rolling pin too. I was so pumped to get in the kitchen.

IMG_4268

Recipe was found here. I will also post it below for a quicker reference. I used more spinach and used fresh ones rather than frozen as the original recipe calls for.

Ingredients
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cup fresh spinach
  • 1 clove of garlic (finely minced)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 cups flour
Instructions
  1. Add olive oil to pan on medium heat.
  2. Once heated add garlic.
  3. Just as garlic is beginning to brown add spinach, and salt.
  4. Saute until spinach is cooked.
  5. Remove from heat, puree until smooth in food processor.
  6. In a bowl, combine two eggs, one egg yolk, and spinach mixture, beating until combined.
  7. Place two cups of flour on countertop, creating a well in the center (like a volcano).
  8. Pour egg/spinach mixture into center of mound of flour.
  9. With a fork, begin mixing egg into flour, scraping flour into the liquid as you stir liquid in a circular motion.
  10. Once most of the liquid has been absorbed, begin mixing flour in with your hands.
  11. Continue mixing flour until a dough forms. You may not use the entire two cups of flour.
  12. Once your dough has form, begin kneading for about 10 minutes, sprinkling with flour as necessary.
  13. Once dough becomes smooth, and is no longer sticky, cover tightly with plastic wrap, allowing dough to rest for about 30 minutes.
  14. Once rested, making into desired pasta.

IMG_4246

IMG_4248

IMG_4251

IMG_4254

I rolled it out very thinly and used a pizza cutter to make fettucine. They were all different sizes but no problem. There’s beauty in imperfection. I decided to dry them out a little to save some for later. Tonight, I’ll be making these with a Tuscan garlic chicken with mushrooms.

Happy eating!
blog_signature

One thought on “Fresh Spinach Pasta

Leave a Reply

